Bachelor of Science in Bachelor of Architecture

Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.)
The Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) program leads to a professional degree accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)--the educational credentials needed for licensure as a registered, practicing architect.
The primary mission of the B.Arch program is to prepare students for the practice of architecture. The School fulfills this mission through an urban design studio, a comprehensive building design studio and various lecture courses. B.Arch students use the School and faculty as rich resources in the development of their professional interests.

Application and Admission Requirements

The application deadline is typically the middle of January of each year.  Contact the school for the specific date.  After February 1, applications are not necessarily turned away, but they cannot be guaranteed priority for placement or financial aid consideration. The first letters are mailed at the end of February.  Students are either admitted, on a waiting list or denied admission. For specific admission requirements, please click on the B.Arch. curriculum.

• If a FAMU student, complete the Office of Admission Readmission Application as a Second-Degree Seeking Student
• If a non-FAMU student, APPLY for admissions to the Office of Admissions as a Second-Degree Seeking Student
• Minimum 2.75/4.0 GPA in upper division courses of the FAMU B.S. or equivalent undergraduate degree in architecture
• Professional Resume & Professional Statement
• Satisfactory Portfolio Review Score
• International applicants will also need to submit TOEFL Scores. International applicants are also advised to have their transcript reviewed by an education evaluation service such as World Education Services (WES)

Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) Curriculum

 

Fall
Course Title Hours
ARC 5352 Advanced Architectural Design 5.1 6
ARC 5286 Practice I 3
ARC 6259 Programming Theory & Practice 3
  Non-ARC Elective  3
Semeter Hours: 15

 

Spring
Course Title Hours
ARC 5353 Advanced Architectural Design 5.2 6
ARC 5288 Practice II 3
ARC 6624 New Technology of Enclosed Buildings 3
ARC 5204 Architectural Making 3
Semester Hours: 15
B.Arch ONe Year Total Hours: 30

 

 YEAr a Fall
Course Title Hours
ARC 5286 Practice I 3
  Non-ARC Elective 3
Semester Hours: 6

 

YEAr A Spring
Course Title Hours
ARC 5288 Practice II 3
ARC 5204 Architectural Making 3
Semester Hours: 6
Year A Total: 12

 

YEAR b Fall
Course Title Hours
ARC 5352 Advanced Architectural Design 5.1 6
ARC 6259 Programming Theory & Practice 3
Semester Hours: 9

 

YEAR b Spring
Course Title Hours
ARC 5353 Advanced Architectural Design 5.2 6
ARC 6624 New Technology of Enclosed Buildings 3
Semester Hours: 9
Year B Total: 18
B.Arch Two Year Total Hours: 30

 

 

Division of Architecture Faculty

Name Title Email Phone
Bryan Buie Visiting Assistant Professor bryan.buie@famu.edu (850)599-3244
Olivier Chamel Associate Professor & Division of Architecture Director olivier.chamel@famu.edu (850) 599-3894
Andrew Chin Associate Professor & Interim Dean andrew.chin@famu.edu  (850)599-3244
Rhonda Hammond

Visiting Assistant Professor

rhonda.hammond@famu.edu

(850)599-3244
Craig Huffman Professor craig.huffman@famu.edu (850) 599-8781
Ronald Lumpkin Associate Professor & Interim Associate Dean ronald.lumpkin@famu.edu (850) 599-8768
Mahsan Mohsenin Associate Professor mahsan.mohsenin@famu.edu (850) 599-3337

Maxim Nasab

Visiting Assistant Professor maxim.nasab@famu.edu (850)599-3244

Ana Orosco

Visiting Assistant Professor ana.orosco@famu.edu (850)599-3244

Kyle Spence

Visiting Assistant Professor kyle.spence@famu.edu (850)599-3244

Jonathon Stevens

Visiting Assistant Professor jonathon.stevens@famu.edu (850)599-3244

Leon Williams

Visiting Assistant Professor leon.williams@famu.edu (850)599-3244

 

placeholder

Contact Us

FAMU School of Architecture and Engineering Technology
Walter Smith Building
1938 S. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
Tallahassee, Florida 32307
P:
(850) 599 3244
F:
(850) 599 3535
E:
SAETinfo@famu.edu