Accreditation Process

Review our process of determining how educational programs meet defined standards of quality.

Program Specific Accreditation

Regional Accreditation
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU) is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). FAMU is designated as a Level VI institution, granting it the authority to award the Baccalaureate and Masters degrees, and the Doctoral degree in four (4) or more fields.

Having first received its accreditation in 1935, FAMU has the distinction of being the first Black institution to be accredited by SACSCOC. Florida A&M University was last reaffirmed in 2018, with its next reaffirmation scheduled in 2028.

Program Accreditation
The University is committed to achieving accreditation in programs where accreditation is required for graduates to practice in their respective fields and encourages programs to obtain accreditation in programs where accreditation is not required, but offers competitive advance to graduates in such programs.

FAMU Accredited Programs and Accrediting Agencies
FAMU Accreditation Procedures
Accreditation Action Plan Form

Florida A&M University - Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges