George W. Gore



George W. Gore Award

The George W. Gore Award program is a merit scholarship for U.S. high school graduates.  It is named after the fifth University President, Dr. George Gore, Jr.  Prior to his presidency, Dr. Gore served as president of Tennessee Agricultural and Industrial College (currently, Tennessee State University-TSU).  While serving as dean, Dr. Gore established the Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society in 1937.  He believed in high ideas and scholastic achievements.  In 1950, he became president of Florida A&M University.  Under his presidency, Florida A&M College was elevated to Florida A&M University.  This elevation brought about a restructuring and expansion of academic programs to include professional and graduate degrees.  This expansion included the new Schools of Pharmacy, Law, and Graduate Studies.  Recipients of this scholarship exhibit high ideas and scholastic achievements.

Scholarship Requirements: 

Earn a standard US high school diploma or its equivalency (unless the student completes a home education program or earns a high school diploma from a non-US high school while living with a parent who is on military or public service assignment away from the US). 

  • Have at least 1330 on the redesigned SAT or a 29 on the ACT.  Must earn a *650 on the SAT math section or *29 on the ACT Math subject area.
  • Have a 3.75 FAMU recalculated GPA (pursuant to F.S. 6.002 and 1003.437)
  • Earn a minimum score of 76 on the ALEKS Math exam for Engineering, Physical, Life, Natural and Computer Sciences majors.  All others must earn at least a 61 on the ALEKS Math exam.
  • Be a U.S. resident or permanent resident.
  • Be college-ready (no remediation or remedial courses).

Students are eligible to receive an award for a maximum of eight (8) semesters.  Students must maintain enrollment in the degree program under which this award was made.  Students may not change majors.  A student must enroll in fifteen credit hours per semester.  Awards are not made during the summer term.

Eligibility for renewal is determined at the end of each semester.  For automatic renewal, an award recipient must comply with the policies of the University Scholarship program and the bullets below:

  • Enroll in a minimum of 15 credit hours each semester.
  • You cannot drop or withdraw from a course(s) after the official university drop and add period has ended (see University Registrar's calendar).
  • Earn a "C" or better in all courses each semester.  If you do not earn "C" or better in each course, the scholarship will be terminated.
  • Earn a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or better at the end of each semester.
  • Maintain the academic program at time of admission (you cannot change your major or degree program).
  • Must enroll in degree program required courses each semester (must follow academic map).
  • Validated (submission of verification documents) and completed FAFSA on file in the FAMU Office of Financial prior to January 1.
  • Earn 22 hours of community service at the end of each semester (must be documented in iSTRIKE via the Office of Student Activities)
  • Recipients must participate in scholarship activities (President's Convocation, Scholar's Speaker Series, etc.,).
  • Freshmen are required to visit the office bi-weekly and to participate in study and tutorial sessions.
  • Sophomores, juniors and seniors are required to visit the office bi-weekly and to participate in study and tutorial sessions.
  • Failure to comply with the above bullets or other policies of the University Scholarship Program will result in the loss (termination) of your scholarship. 
  • Loss of scholarship (termination) will not be reinstated at a later date.

Freshman year only (cumulative grade point average reviewed at the end of the spring semester)

Scholarship awards are limited.  Awards will be made based upon the competitiveness of the current pool of candidates and until funds are exhausted.  Scholarships will not be awarded to candidates that require remedial coursework or developmental education.