Florida A&M University Logo
Home FamMail iRattler FamCast
News Headlines

Faculty/Staff Directory  Faculty/Staff Directory
Phone  850-599-3413
Fax  850-561-2626

News Headlines
1601 South Martin Luther King Blvd.
Suite 100
Tallahassee, Florida 32307
Holmes Scholars Program Inducts Six FAMU Educational Leadership Doctoral Students

April 23, 2013

– Six doctoral candidates of the Florida A&M University (FAMU) College of Education Educational Leadership Cohort 2011 were officially inducted as Holmes Scholars® 2013 during the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) 65th Annual Convention in Orlando, Fla. 

The program provides mentorship, peer support, networking opportunities, professional development opportunities and rich scholarly experiences to doctoral students from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds that are pursuing careers in the academy and leadership positions in higher education. 

FAMU Educational Leadership doctoral students attending were: Addie Campbell-Mungen, Franzetta Fitz, Kimberly Grant, J. Dia Green, Joseph Kelly and Maurice L. Johnson II. 
Educational Leadership assistant professor, Sheila Moore presented on the dissertation process at the AACTE annual conference, and coordinated the Holmes Scholars initiative for FAMU doctoral candidates.  Moore serves on the National Association of Holmes Scholars Alumni (NAHSA) Executive Board.

The conference began with an opening session and roundtable discussions with several notable Holmes alumni from across the nation facilitating.  The remaining conference included research presentations by Holmes Scholars® and notable faculty from universities and colleges around the country.

Three of the FAMU doctoral students were nominated by their peers for leadership positions on the National AACTE Holmes Scholars® Council, and one was elected.  Lt. Col. Kelly, professor of Military Science, was elected as the research coordinator. Kelly’s responsibilities include coordinating research, publication and conference presentation efforts within the National AACTE Holmes Scholars® Program. 
The Educational Leadership faculty members are committed to providing leadership opportunities, ensuring that scholars successfully complete their programs of study, and become leaders. 

- 30 -

FAMU Headlines View Archives