Home FamMail iRattler FamCast
 
 
Department of Biology
 

   
Faculty/Staff Directory  Faculty/Staff Directory
Phone  599-3907
Fax  561-2996

Department of Biology
1530 S. Martin Luther King Blvd
211 Jones Hall
Tallahassee, Florida 32307
 
 

Faculty

 

 

  
James A. Adams, Ph.D
Professor
Developmental Biology & Reproductive Toxicology
Office: Jones Hall Room 203   
Office Phone: (850) 561 - 2744(850) 561 - 2744
Lab: Jones Hall Room 203
email: james.adams@famu.edu  
 Richard Long, Ph.D.   
Associate Professor
Marine Microbiology
Office: Journalism Bld. Room 4046
Office Phone: (850) 599-8281
Lab: Old DRS Building #64 Room 211
email: richard.long@famu.edu

 
Bryan Gibbon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Molecular and Genetic Plant Biology
Office: Old DRS Portable 2 Room 106
Office Phone:(850) 412 - 5097 (850) 412-5097
Lab:
email: bryan.gibbon@famu.edu
  Adrian T. McCollum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Neurobiology and Physiology
Office: 113 Science Research Bld.
Office Phone: (850) 412-5224
Lab: 511 Jones Hall
email:adrian.mccollum@famu.edu
 
Virginia Gottschalk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Molecular Biophysics
Office: Old DRS Portable 2 Room 111
850.561-2Office Phone: (850) 561 - 2750(850) 561-2750
Lab: Dyson Rm 0024
email: virgina.gottschalk@famu.edu
 Caroline Odewumi, Ph.D.          
Associate Professor
Molecular Environmental Toxicology
Office: 501 Jones Hall
Office Phone: 850.561-5034(850) 561-5034
Alt. Phone: (850) 412-5034
Lab: 501 Jones Hall
email:caroline.odewumi@famu.edu 
 
Gokhan Hacisalihoglu, Ph.D.   
Professor
Botany and Plant Physiology
Office: 114 Science Research Bld.
Office Phone: 850.599-3665(850) 599-3665
Lab: 513 Jones Hall
email: gokhan.h@famu.edu
 Paulette Reneau, Ph.D.          
Assisstant Professor
Genomics & Molecular Phylogenetics
Office: Old DRS Building # 62 Room 110
Office Phone: (850) 561-2743(850) 561-2743
Lab: Old DRS Building  #64 Room 209
Lab Phone: (850) 599-8276(850) 599-8276
email:paulette.reneau@famu.edu
 
Jessica Humann, Ph.D.   
Assistant Professor
Molecular Neuroscience
Office: Old DRS Portable 2 Room 106
Office Phone: (850) 412-5513
Lab:
email: jessica.humann@famu.edu
 Thomas Sawicki, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Evolutionary Biology
Office: Old DRS Portable 2 Room 105
Office Phone: (850) 561-2397
Lab:
email: thomas.sawicki@famu.edu
 
Ramesh Katam, Ph.D.   
Assistant Professor
Proteomics and Functional Biology
Office: 121Science Research Bld.
Office Phone: (850) 561-2740(850) 561-2740   
Lab: Dyson Room 012
email: ramesh.katam@famu.edu
 Leeshawn Thomas, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Molecular Immunology
Office: 505 Science Research Bld.
Office Phone: (850) 599-3328
Lab: 505 A&B Science Research Bld.
email: leeshawn.thomas@famu.edu
 
Rafaat Khalil, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Toxicology
Office: Old DRS Building #64 Room 203
OfficePhone: (850) 599-3255(850) 599-3255    
Lab: Old DRS Building #64 Room 203
email: rafaat.khalil@famu.edu
 Michael A. Thornton, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Platelet Biology & Molecular Hematology
Office: Portable 2 Room 112
Office Phone: (850) 599-8073
Lab: 511 Jones Hall
email: micheal.thornton@famu.edu
alt. email: thornthor@yahoo.com
 
Lekan M. Latinwo, Ph.D. (Chair)
Professor
Molecular Environmental Toxicology
Office: 217A Jones Hall
Office Phone: 850.599-3908(850) 599-3908
Lab: 501 Jones Hall
email: lekan.latinwo@famu.edu    
   
 

Visiting
Professors

 

 

  
Larry Russell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Molecular Bio-pharmacology
Office: 636 Gamble St.   
Lab: Room 237B Science Research Bld.  
Office Phone: 850.599-3907(850) 599-3907
email: larry.russell@famu.edu
 Tanganyika Wilder, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Cadiovascular Physiology
Office: Old DRS Portable 2 Room 102   
Office Phone: (850) 412-505(850) 412-5059   
Lab: 511 Jones Hall
email: tanganyika.wilder@famu.edu
 

 

Academic Advisors

 

 

  
Letina Banks, M.S.            
Biology Instructor & Academic Advisor
Office: Jones Hall 314
Office Phone: 850-561-2742(850) 561-2742
email: letina.banks@famu.edu
 Olayinka O. Reis, Ph.D.      
Biology Graduate Program Coordinator
Office: Old DRS Building #63 Room 109
Office Phone: (850) 599-3825
email: olayinka1.reis@famu.edu
 
Ms. Monica Johnson            
Biology Freshman/Sophmore
Academic Advisor (A-L)
Office: Jones Hall 314
Office Phone: (850) 561-2105(850) 561-2105
email:monica.johnson@famu.edu
 Mr. Spencer Tyrus            
Biology Freshman/Sophmore
Academic Advisor (M-Z)
Office: Jones Hall 314
Office Phone: (850) 561-2776
email:spencer.tyrus@famu.edu
 

 

Administrative Assistants

 

 

  
Ms. Cutina Francis                        
Interim Secretary
211 Jones Hall
Phone: (850) 599 - 3907(850) 599-3907
email: cutina1.francis@famu.edu
  Mrs. Attania Jean-Funny                        
Office Manager
217B Jones Hall
Phone: (850) 599 - 3908(850) 599-3908
email:attaniajeanfunny@famu.edu
 
 

Teaching Lab Coordinators

 

 

  
Mr. Augustine Nkembo
Instructor / Lab Coordinator
Office: Room 311A Jones Hall
Office Phone: 850.599-2752(850) 599-2752
email: augustine.nkembo@famu.edu
 Mrs. Rhonda Peets
Lab Technician
Office: Room 307 Jones Hall
Office Phone: (850.599-275850) 599-2752
email: rhonda.peets@famu.edu
 

Instructors

 

 

  
Rashid Elhag, Ph.D.
Molecular and Cellular Cancer Research
Office: Old DRS Portable #62 Room 101
Office Phone: 850-561-2749(850) 561-2749
Lab: 850.561-274Jones Hall Room 514
email: rashid.elhag@famu.edu
   

 Adjuncts

 

 

  
Ramesh Badisa, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Science Research Bld. 240
Office Phone: 850.561-2896850-561-2896(850) 561-2896
email: badisa66@gmail.com
 Angela Muchovej, M.S.           
Office Phone: (850) 599-3907
email: angela.muchovej@famu.edu
Alt. email: amuchovej@gmail.com
 
Maurice Holder, Ph.D.           
Professor
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Dyson Room 200B
Phone: 850.599-3603(850) 599-3603
email: maurice.holder@famu.edu
 Phyllis Reaves, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Allied Health Sciences
Room 330 Lewis-Beck Bldg.
Phone: (850) 561-2011
email: preaves8@gmail.com
 
Dawn Lewis, Ph.D.           
Assistant Professor
Cellular Microbiology
Office Phone: (850) 599-3907
email: dawn.lewis@famu.edu