About The Center for Water and Air Quality

About the Center

The Center for Water and Air Quality was established in 1998. Its mission is to:

  • Protect, improve and conserve the quality and the quantity of Florida’s water resources,
  • Enhance sustainable water management practices;
  • Address the needs of stakeholders

 

The Center supports undergraduate and graduate teaching programs in soil and water sciences and provides research opportunities for experiential learning in natural resources program areas

The faculty in the Center conducts basic and applied research to address critical problems in the areas of water and air quality and sustainability of natural resources and the environment. It undertakes educational activities in cooperation with FAMU Cooperative Extension Program to serve stakeholder needs in water quality and quantity and watershed management. The Center faculty is also engaged in international activities related to water resources and water quality in the developing countries.

 

Program Areas/Projects

  • Wetlands
  • Air Quality
  • Biological Assessment of Water Quality
  • Alleviation of Water Quality Problems and Conservation/ Best Management Practices
  • Watershed Mangement and Modeling
  • Nutrient Management, Rural Water Issues and Water Policy
  • Waterhshed Education and Outreach

 

Facilities

Soil and Water Analytical Laboratory
Wetland Ecology Laboratory
Aquatic Insect Laboratory

 

Faculty

Cassel Gardner, Interim Director, Professor, Ph.D. (University of Florida), Cooperative Extension, Cassel.gardner@famu.edu

Yuch Hsieh, Professor, Ph.D. (Rutgers), Yuch.Hsieh@famu.edu

Odemari Mbuya, Professor, Ph.D. (University of Florida), Odemari.Mbuya@famu.edu

Katherine Milla, Professor, Ph.D. (Florida State University), Katherine.milla@famu.edu

Margaret Gitau, Assistant Professor, Ph.D. (Pennsylvania State University) – Biological and Agricultural Systems Engineering, Margaret.Gitau@famu.edu 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Manuel Pescador, Professor, Ph.D. (Florida State University), Manuel.Pescador@famu.edu 

 

Research Associates

Glynnis Bugna, Ph.D. (Florida State University), Glynnis.Bugna@famu.edu

Christy Crandall, M.S. (Colorado State University), christy.crandall@famu.edu

Amita Jain, Ph.D. (AMU, India), Amita.jain@famu.edu

Andrew Rasmussen, Ph.D. (FAMU/UF), Andrew.Rasmussen@famu.edu

Kimberly Davis, M.S. (FAMU), kimberly.davis@famu.edu

John Folks, M.S. (UF), john.folks@famu.edu

 

Contact
Dr. Cassel Gardner

Interim Director, Center for Water and Air Quality
1740 Martin Luther King Blvd.
103 S. Perry-Paige Building
Tallahassee, FL 32307
Tele: 850 599-3594
Fax: 850 561-2966
Email: cassel.gardner@famu.edu

 

Center Newsletter

Sping 2011

Fall 2010

Fall 2009

Spring 2009