School of the Environment

E.S.S.O (Environmental Sciences Student Organization)

ESSO officers:

President: Viniece Jennings

Vice-President: Denis Wafula

Parliamentarian: Rhianna Neely

Treasurer: Nikisha Sookwah

Historian: Zakiya Hoyett

Sherilyn Morgan

Public Relations Officer:
Lorielle Jackson
Brief History of ESSO
The Environmental Science Student Organization (ESSO) was founded by graduate students in 1997.


To garner an appreciation of the environment amongst the university and local community through educational outreach activities while providing a forum for academic and professional development for all students.

    •    Provide experiences for students and community to engage in environmental causes
    •    Create opportunities for ES students to get involved in co-circular activities
    •    Create opportunities for ES students to strengthen academic and life skills

Membership Benefits

    •    Official Club T-shirts
    •    Membership Card
    •    Priority event invitations
    •    Recruitment Ambassador
    •    Leadership Development
    •    Conference Travel Assistance Stipend
    •    News article publication in departmental newsletter
    •    Community Service Opportunities

Membership Requirements

    •    Energetic & Motivated
    •    Interested in developing leadership skills
    •    Enrolled as student at a Florida SUS college or university
    •    In good academic standing at current school
    •    Ability to attend meetings and contribute to the overall mission of the organization
    •    Interested in the health and well-being of the planet

To apply for ESSO membership, please fill out this application and turn it in (with your membership fee) to Dr. Henry Neal Williams and Dr. Richard Gragg.

ESSO is an affiliate chapter of SEEDS

ESSO is a student chapter and affiliated member of NAEP

ESSO Facebook


Contact Info

1515 S Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
FSH Science Research Center
Tallahassee, Florida 32307

P: (850) 599-3550
F: (850) 599-8183