About Us

About the Center For Water Resources

The faculty in the Center conducts basic and applied research to address critical problems in the areas of water and air quality and sustainability of natural resources and the environment. It undertakes educational activities in cooperation with FAMU Cooperative Extension Program to serve stakeholder needs in water quality and quantity and watershed management. The Center faculty is also engaged in international activities related to water resources and water quality in the developing countries.

The Center for Water Resources (CWR), formerly the Center for Water Quality, is a research unit within the College of Agriculture and Food Sciences (CAFS) at Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU).  The Center has diverse faculty from the disciplines of Soil Science, Agronomy, Entomology, Forestry, Biological Systems Engineering (BSE), Civil and Environmental Engineering, Agribusiness, Environmental Science, Public Health, Allied Health Sciences, Biology, Chemistry and Political Science.  The CWR is the focal point for faculty research in water resources, the catalyst for developing collaborative projects, and a conduit to recruit undergraduate and graduate students, and to reach out to stakeholders. It is a clearinghouse where policy and management decision-makers and the public obtain objective, science-based information on water resource issues impacting the State of Florida, the Southeast, and the nation. The CWR works in collaboration with affiliated faculty from all Colleges and Schools within Florida A&M University who have expertise in Water and related sciences. The Center also works with other universities, State and Federal agencies, and the private sector. In order to have a much more focused and precise holistic approach on water issues, the Center has restructured to have affiliated faculty from different Colleges and School at FAMU. In this case the Center will be able to address issues regarding water and agriculture, water and engineering, water and the environment, water and public health, water economics, and water and public policy.

Mission

To protect, improve, restore, and maintain Florida’s water resources and reduce water related problems associated with agricultural practices and other human activities through research, education, extension/outreach and technology transfer.

The Center for Water Resources strives to promote stewardship for managing, protecting and conserving water resources through education, research and outreach activities; mitigate water resource issues and serve as a resource for providing solutions in emerging and current water problems in Florida, the nation and globally.

Objectives of the CWR include:
  • Conduct basic and applied research to address critical issues in water and soil conservation, sustainable agriculture, water and public health, water engineering, water economics and policy.
  • Conduct extension/outreach activities in cooperation with the FAMU Cooperative Extension Program to serve stakeholders’ needs in areas of water and soil conservation, water and public health, and water and public policy.
  • Develop international collaborations in research, education and outreach in water resources and related sciences.
  • Support undergraduate and graduate teaching programs in soil and water sciences and provide research opportunities for graduate students in their thesis works.

Program Areas/Projects

  • Wetlands
  • Biological Assessment of Water Quality
  • Alleviation of Water Quality Problems and Conservation/Best Management Practices
  • Watershed Mangement and Modeling
  • Nutrient Management, Rural Water Issues and Water Policy
  • Waterhshed Education and Outreach

Facilities

Water Resources Analytical Laboratory
Wetland Ecology Laboratory
Aquatic Insect Laboratory

Center Faculty and Staff Photos

Center Faculty

Mbuya, Odemari S., Ph.D., Professor (Agronomy/Soils)  

          Email: odemari.mbuya@famu.edu

Milla, Katherine A., Ph.D., Professor (Geology)  

          Email: Katherine.milla@famu.edu

Gardner, Cassel S.,, Ph.D., Professor (Agronomy)

          Email:  cassel.gardner@famu.edu

Rasmussen, Andrew K., Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor (Aquatic Entomology)

          Email: andrew.rasmussen@famu.edu

Hsieh, Yuch P., Ph.D., Professor (Environmental Chemistry)

          Email: yuch.hsieh@famu.edu

Jain, Amita Ph.D. Research Associate (Analytical Chemistry)

          Email: amita.jain@famu.edu

Swamy, Aavudai Anandhi, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Biological Systems Engineering)

          Email: anandhi.swamy@famu.edu

Onokpise, Oghenekome  U., Ph.D., Professor(Forestry and Natural Resources)

          Email: oghenekome.onokpise@famu.edu

Taylor, Robert, Ph.D., Professor(Soil Chemistry)

          Email: Robert.taylor@famu.edu

Bugna, Glynnis  C., Ph.D., Research Associate(Environmental Science)

          Email: glynnis.bugna@famu.edu

Ngatia, Lucy W., Ph.D., Research Associate(Biogeochemistry)

          Email: lucy.ngatia@famu.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty

Abichou, Tarek, Ph.D., P.E., Professor (Civil and Environ. Engineering)

          Email: abichou@eng.famu.fsu.edu

Ugochukwu, Ngozi, Ph.D., Professor(Biochemistry)

          Email: Ngozi.ugochukwu@famu.edu

Bailey, Nathaniel O. , Ph.D. Assistant Professor (Biological Systems Engineering)

          Email: nathaniel.bailey@famu.edu

Tang Youneng, Ph.D. , Assistant Professor (Civil and Environ. Engineering)

          Email: youneng.tang@famu.edu

Martinez-Colon, Michael, Ph.D., Assistant Professor(Oceanography/Geology)

          Email: michael.martinez@famu.edu

Latinwo, Lekan M.,Ph.D., Professor (Biology)

          Email: lekan.latinwo@famu.edu

Chauhan, Ashvini, Ph.D., Associate Professor (Environmental Biotechnology)

          Email: ashvini.chauhan@famu.edu

Ziewitz, Kathryn L., Ph.D., Research Scientist (Geography)

          Email: Kathryn.ziewitz@famu.edu

Inamete, Ufot B., Ph.D., Professor (Political Science)

          Email: ufot.inamete@famu.edu

Jagoe, Charles, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor (Environmental Science)

          Email: charles.jagoe@famu.edu

Nemours, Djanan, Biological Scientist

          Email: djanan.nemours@famu.edu

Reaves, Phyllis Y., Ph.D., Associate Professor (Cardiovascular Pharmacology and Toxicology) 

          Email: phyllis.reaves@famu.edu

Lachaud, Michee, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Agribusiness)

          Email: michee.lachaud@famu.edu

Dev. Satyanarayan, Ph.D., Assistant Professor(Biological Systems Engineering)

          Email: satyanarayan.dev@famu.edu

Lorenzo, Alfredo  B., Ph.D., Professor (Forestry)

          Email: alfredo.lorenzo@famu.edu

Solis, Daniel, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Agribusiness)

          Email: Daniel.solis@famu.edu

Axelrad, Donald  M., Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Environmental Toxicology)

          Email: Donald.axelrad@famu.edu

Becker, Alan  J., Ph.D., Associate Professor (Environmental Toxicology)

          Email: alan.becker@famu.edu

Clark  II, Clayton J., Ph.D., P.E., Associate Professor (Civil and Environ. Engineering)

          Email: clayton.clarkii@famu.edu

Johnny M. Grace III, Ph.D., Courtesy Graduate Faculty (Biological and Ag. Engineering)

          Email: jmgrace@fs.fed.us

 

Emeritus Faculty

Pescador Manuel, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus(Aquatic Entomology)

          Email: manuel.pescador@famu.edu  

 

 

 

Office Manager

Abigail Lewis-Madison, abigail.madison@famu.edu

Contact

Dr. Odemari Mbuya

Director, Center for Water Resources
1740 Martin Luther King Blvd.
103 S. Perry-Paige Building
Tallahassee, FL 32307
Tele: 850 561-2302
Fax: 850 561-2966
Email: odemari.mbuya@famu.edu

Center Brochure

 

 

Center Newsletter

Sping 2011

Fall 2010

Fall 2009

Spring 2009