Faculty And Staff

Stephen Leong – Center Director and Professor / Agricultural Economist 

Education: B.S. (Louisiana State University), M.S. (Louisiana State University), Ph.D. (Louisiana State University)

Email: stephen.leong@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-5188

 

Bobby R. Phills – Professor and Director of Small Fruit Program / Plant Breeder

Education: B.S. (Southern University), M.S. (Southern University), Ph.D. (Louisiana State University)

Email: bphills13@gmail.com

Tel: (850)599-685

 

Jiang Lu – Professor  / Grape Breeder

Education: B.S. (South China Agricultural University, Hainan, China), M.Phil. (University of Reading, England), Ph.D. (University of Reading, England)

Email: jiang.lu@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-7393

 

Mehboob Sheikh – Professor  / Biotechnologist

Education: B.Sc. (A.P. Agricultural University, Hyderabad, India), M.Sc. (A.P. Agricultural University, Tirupati, India), Ph.D. (University of Oklahoma)

Email: Mehboob.sheikh@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-5189

 

Violetka Colova – Professor  / Viticulturist

Education: B.S. (Agricultural University, Bulgaria), M.S. (Agricultural University, Bulgaria), Ph.D. (Agricultural Academy, Bulgaria)

Email: violetka.colova@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-7394

 

Xia Xu – Research Associate / Horticulturist

Education: B.S., M.S. (Florida A&M University), Ph.D. (Penn State University)

Email: xia.xu@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-7397

 

Devaiah Kambiranda – Research Associate / Molecular Biologist

Education: M.Sc. (Bangalore University, India), Ph.D. (Bangalore University, India)

Email: devaiah.kambiranda@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-5191

 

 

Anthony Ananga – Research Associate / Food Biotechnologist

Education: BS (University of Alabama), MS (Alabama A&M University), Ph.D. (Alabama A&M University)

Email: anthony.ananga@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-5197

 

Vasil Georgiev – Research Associate / Bioengineer

Education: M.Sc. (University of Food Technology, Bulgaria), Ph.D. (The Stephan Angeloff Inst. of Microbiology- Bulgaria Academy of Sc., Bulgaria)

Email: vasgeorgiev@gmail.com

Tel: (850)412-5196

 

Zhongbo Ren – Research Associate / Winemaker

Education: B.S. (Northwestern Agricultural University, China), M.S. (Northwestern Agricultural University, China)

Email: zhongbo.ren@famu.edu

Tel: (850)412-7398

 

Umar Gohar – Research Associate / Horticulturist 

Education: BS (NWFP Agricultural University, Peshawar, Pakistan), MS (NWFP Agricultural University, Peshawar, Pakistan)

Email: gohar1@hotmail.com

Tel: (850)412-5192

 

Fitz Bradley – Research Associate / Horticulturist

Education: BS, MS (Florida A&M University)

Email: fitzbradley@hotmail.com

Tel: (850)412-7395

 

Staff

 

Angela Harper – Office Manager

Education:

Email: angela.harper@famu.edu

Tel: (850)599-3996

 

Anse Kaplan – Lab Technician

Education:

Email: ansekaplan@yahoo.com

Tel: (850)412-5191

 

David Smithwick – Farm Manager

Education: B.S.O.E. (Wayland Baptist University, Texas), M.A. (City University, Washington)

Tel: (850)412-7693

 

Michael Garrett – Sr. Agricultural. Assistant

Education

Tel: (850)412-7693