Faculty Senators present at the meeting were as follows:

<u>Officers (Present)</u> Dr. Maurice Holder, President Dr. Gwendolyn Singleton, Vice President Dr. James Muchovej, Parliamentarian

<u>Senators (Present)</u>

Dr. Gary Paul Dr. Rufus Ellis Dr. Lekan Latinwo Dr. Desmond Stephens Dr. Kinfe Redda Dr. Elizabeth Davenport Professor Beth Lewis Dr. Marcia Owens Dr. Roscoe Hightower Dr. Michael Abrams Dr. Alice Rozier Dr. Kandy Woods

Senators (Excused) Mrs. Jeneice Smith Dr. Ashvini Chauhan Dr. Mary Diallo Dr. Dreamal Worthen Dr. Gokhan Hacisalihoglu Dr. Arthur Washington Dr. Lambert Kanga Dr. Primus Mtenga Dr. LaRae Donnellan (sabbatical) Dr. Cynthia Davis Dr. Edward Jones Dr. Charles Magee Dr. Clyde Ashley Dr. Tshaka Randall Dr. Ebenezer Oriaku Dr. Phyllis Smith Dr. Frances Stallworth Dr. David Jackson Dr. Angela Thornton Dr. Carl Moore Dr. Janet Marshall

<u>Ex-Officio (Voting) (Present)</u> Dr. Lauren Sapp Dr. Donald Palm

Ex-Officio (Voting) (Excused) Dr. Uche Ohia

Meeting began at 3:35 p.m. at which time 7 Senators were still needed to form a quorum. Senate President Holder announced that the Faculty Senate Holiday gathering had been cancelled due to low response rate. Only 10 Senators had replied to the event announcement.

Provost Dr. Hughes-Harris unable to attend meeting, but Dr. Palm attended as her representative.

Due to lack of quorum, we were unable to have a full vote on Curriculum Committee submission. Therefore an email response from all Senators will be needed before 12 noon on Wednesday, December 16<sup>th</sup>. These items needed to be acted on prior to start of Spring Semester 2010.

Senator Ashley (SBI) asks about ability to suspend the rules regarding necessary quorum to act on voting matters. According to his understanding of Robert's Rules, if the rules were suspended it would only require 2/3 of those present to vote and pass on Curriculum Committee matters.

Senator Muchovej, as Parliamentarian said that according to Robert's Rules the motion to suspend would have had to occur at the previous meeting to allow for a vote without quorum of the body at the current meeting.

President Holder announced that the deadline for the submission of nominations for the Teacher of the Year and Advisor of the Year awards was changed to January 15, 2010. The nomination deadline is set by the Faculty Senate and can be extended if the Senate does not receive an insufficient number of nominations or lack of representation from all units. Extending the nomination deadline to January will not affect the application deadline which is February 12, 2010. President Holder emphasized the importance of the Legislature appropriating the \$20,000 to make the awards possible.

President Holder explained that the Faculty Senate Resolution regarding the priority of FAMU projects on the state's PICO list had been completed and sent forward to the Board of Governors, the FAMU Board of Trustees and the University administration as requested. The Board of Governors had announced that there would be no PICO funds available until 2013. However, the Pharmacy Phase II project keeps moving up and down the priority list despite the previous commitment to fund and complete the project. FAMU/FSU College of Engineering is also experiencing a similar delay. The Resolution does not encroach or force anyone to do anything; it does however emphasize the importance of putting FAMU projects back on the PICO List as a priority. President Holder encourages all Senators to read the Resolution.

The FAMU faculty are experiencing increased teaching loads and we may need to look at how to address this in the future, for instance as it relates to AORs etc. This is very important given that FAMU is under the 15 hour load memorandum from Charlie Reed many years ago where other SUS institutions remain at the 12-hour load. These concerns need to be a part of next year's Annual Report.

Senator Kinfe Redda, Chair of the Institutional Research Awards committee announced that the criteria and deadlines for the award have been posted on FAMUINFO.

President Holder had appointed a 20-member Steering Committee to oversee the application review and selection process. The Committee has representations from all units. The members are doing everything possible to ensure that the award process satisfies everyone and that the award will recognize FAMUans with high research-related achievements. Senator Redda encouraged Senators to nominate members of their units for the awards, especially faculty with less than 6 years at FAMU for the Emerging Researcher Awards.

At 4:00 p.m. Senator Tshaka Randall (Law School) made a motion to set a time for adjournment in the absence of a quorum. The motion was seconded by Senator Lekan Latinwo. The motion resulted in the establishment of a 4:15 adjournment time.

President Holder also recognized Senator Roscoe Hightower (SBI) as Chair of the Travel Awards Committee. President Holder expressed that a lot of work went into getting the \$13,000 allocation for travel awards. There are currently on 2 applications for the travel awards for this year. The Travel Awards Committee has a process in place to award the \$1,500-\$2,000 awards. It is possible that many faculty are waiting for the 2<sup>nd</sup> deadline to apply for the awards.

Senator Marsha Owens the (Environmental Sciences Institute) asked two questions related to the work expectations prior to University Holiday Break. The first questions focused on when 9-month faculty stop working for the Fall Semester. The second question focus on whether or not there is a requirement that faculty are required to work 40 hours at their work stations after grades are in. Senator Elizabeth Davenport responded that according to the Collective Bargaining Agreement 9-month faculty were not required to do anything after grades were turned in on 12/14/2009. She also clarified that requiring the 40 hour requirement after grades were submitted was contrary to the way faculty are evaluated. Senator Davenport has a number of related concerns that have been forwarded to Provost Hughes-Harris and Mr. Bogan, the University's labor attorney.

Senator Latinwo (Biology) asked about which Leave process 9-month faculty need to follow if they leave campus between 12/15/2009 & 1/4/2010. Senator Davenport reiterated that nothing needed to be done. Dr. Palm said that he was looking into the process as well and would get back to Senator Latinwo. Senator Ashley asserted that Senator Davenport was correct that nothing needed to be done for 9-month faculty. However, clarification was necessary for 12-month faculty who would need to take Annual or Sick leave (if they are ill) unless the University is shut down.

The meeting adjourned at 4:17 p.m. after an informal vote of 26 Senators to approve the Curriculum Committee submissions. The final vote would be recorded once the remaining Senators respond to email by Wednesday, December 16, 2009 at 12 noon. Checks were placed by the name of all Senators who were present and voted to accept the submissions.